Contact Details

6A, Oxford Business Centre (6th Floor)
Sreekandath Road, Ravipuram
Kochi 682016,
Kerala, India

Tel: 0484-2383351
Fax: 0484-2353124

Emall: nansencentre.india@gmail.com

Marine Ecosystem studies with focus on forcing mechanisms and algal blooms

Introduction

The change in SST and level of nutrients have increased the frequency of algal blooms in the marine environment. Some of these algal blooms are harmful to life in one way or other. The exact mechanism by which the harmful algal bloom formation is triggered is still not completely understood. The increase in the frequency and severity of the harmful algal blooms world-wide calls for attention by the scientists.

Objectives
  • To improve the description of bio-optical and physical interactions of the estuaries, coastal regions and open ocean; quantification of algae and water quality parameters and understanding forcing mechanisms.
  • To build up specialized knowledge to develop algorithms needed; validation of geophysical products from the new satellite sensors and application in research and operational services.
  • Dissemination of the scientific knowledge on coastal zone through awareness programmes.
Approach

Mainly coordinated through the research collaboration with Ocean Colour group of the Nansen Centres through application of Satellite Remote Sensing with insitu measurements and GIS Applications.

Satellite remote sensing offers the capacity of relatively inexpensive, regular and global monitoring of oceans and coasts. NERCI involves in Satellite remote sensing data analysis and interpolation for ocean and coastal zone applications, Development and validation of algorithms for satellite remote sensing data analysis in combination with field experiments.

The upwelling associated with the southwest monsoon persists during August is imaged here along with presence of colder waters as observed along the prominent upwelling sites of Somali and Arabian Coast and the adjoining areas also exhibit lower SSH. During this month warmer waters are observed in Bay of Bengal and in the central Indian Ocean.

OCEAN COLOUR GROUP IN THE NANSEN CENTRE

Sl. No

Name

Designation

Institute

Contact information

1

Lasse H.Pettersson

Leading Scientist and Intl.relation Director

NERSC,Bergen,
Norway

Lasse.pettersson@nersc.no

2.

Pozdnyakov Dmitry

Research Director and Head of the NIERSC Ocean Colour Group

NIERSC,

dmitry.pozdnyakov@niersc.spb.ru;

3.

Dr. K. Ajith Joseph

Director

NERCI

ajith_jk@yahoo.com

4

Dr. Nandini Menon. N

Deputy Director

NERCI

Nandinimenon@yahoo.com

5.

Smitha. A

Sr.Research Fellow

NERCI

Smitha.a14@gmail.com

6.

Dmitry Petrenko

PhD student

NIERSC

dmitry.petrenko@niersc.spb.ru; dmpetrenko@yandex.ru

7.

Anton Korosov

Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Centre

NERSC

anton.korosov@nersc.no

8

Evgeny Morozov

PhD student

NIERSC

evgeny.morozov@niersc.spb.ru; frisman@list.ru

TOP

Latest News